Non-Discrimination Policy

NOTICE OF NON-DISCRIMINATION           Code 102.E2

It is the policy of the Earlham Community School District not to discriminate on the basis of race,color, national origin, sex, disability, religion, creed, age (for employment), marital status (for programs), sexual orientation, gender identity and socioeconomic status (for programs) in its educational programs and its employment practices.

There is a grievance procedure for processing complaints of discrimination. If you have questions or a grievance related to this policy please contact:
Michael Wright at 535 N. Chestnut Ave., Earlham, IA, or by phone at 515-758-2214 or by email at mwright@ecsdcards.com.

SECTION 504 - OVERVIEW Please use this link to view the 504 Manual

Section 504 is a federal statute that prohibits discrimination based upon a disability. Section 504 covers eligible students for accommodations that enable them to work or learn. A school team knowledgeable of the student determines, with evaluation data, if the student meets eligibility criteria.


Earlham Community School District does not discriminate in admission or access to, or treatment or employment in, its programs and activities. Section 504 of the 1973 Rehabilitation Act is a non-discrimination statute barring discrimination on the basis of disability. It is the policy of the district not to discriminate on the basis of disability in its educational programs, activities, or employment policies as required by the Act. The 1973 Rehabilitation Act requires the district to locate, evaluate, and determine if the student is a qualified individual requiring accommodation necessary to provide access to educational programs.


Parents are entitled to have the opportunity to review relevant educational records under the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). The requirements are described in the Board of Education Policy Manual and is on the district’s website (ecsdcards.com). Parents/guardians disagreeing with the decisions reached by district personnel regarding necessary accommodations for access to the educational program may request a hearing before an impartial hearing officer by notifying the district’s ADA/Section 504 Coordinator. The parent/guardian is entitled to participate in the hearing and to be represented by counsel. The district’s designated ADA/Section 504 Coordinator is the Coordinator of Special Programs - Jason Hammen, Elementary Principal.


504 Contacts

Elementary

Jason Hammen jhammen@ecsdcards.com

Mindy Harskamp mharskamp@ecsdcards.com

Middle School

Jennifer Knight jknight@ecsdcards.com

Marty Dalton mdalton@ecsdcards.com

High School

Jennifer Knight jknight@ecsdcards.com

Crystal Hale chale@ecsdcards.com

Kayla Selby kselby@ecsdcards.com




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.